They don’t know that you can recover the account, and this will result in them abandoning the account for a new one, not knowing that the old account is still active. It is on account of this kind of eventuality that people continue to have several Facebook accounts.
When people realize that they have so many accounts the tendency to delete some would become inevitable. It is at this juncture that we come in to help you how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account. However, that will form our main focus for this article today.
For you to successfully delete or deactivate your Facebook account there are two ways to do this, we going to discuss them differently right here.
Recently, Mark Zuckerberg’s Facebook social media is now owned under Meta. Facebook is one platform that millions of people subscribe to, with so many accounts, some have two to three accounts depending on one challenge or the other.
Deleting or Deactivating a Facebook Account (the differences)
Do you know that there is a difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account? The difference is that when you deactivate your Facebook account it gives you a chance to return to the account whenever you wish to, while on the other hand, when you delete your account is permanently deleted. That means you won’t be able to get the account back.
The Effect of Deactivating a Facebook Account
What you will find out when you deactivate your account, is that the posts, photos, friends lists, and “about” information on your timeline will be hidden, and your friends and other Facebook users won’t be able to search for your account. But since Facebook saves all your messages, your friends, posts, photos, and already sent messages will remain visible, and you can retrieve them any day any time if you wish.
The Effect of Deleting a Facebook Account
This action is the direct opposite of deactivating an account. That is to say that deleting your account will permanently get rid of all your account and all the details and your posts.
With this action, you will not be able to access this account again because it has been permanently deleted and everything that has to do with the user will be completely erased.
That is why Facebook is not too fast in deleting an account when they receive a notification to do so, because one may change his or her mind, so they allow the account to remain there for like 90 days before deleting it completely.
How to Permanently Delete or Deactivate a Facebook Account
Steps to deactivate your Facebook account
If you want to deactivate your Facebook account follow these simple steps we have outlined for you.
- Log in to your Facebook
- From your Facebook page, click the upside-down triangle in the top right corner
- Move to the Settings
- At the left corner of the page click Your Facebook Information
- You will see deactivation and deletion, click Deactivate Your Account
- Then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions therein.
NOTE: Deactivating your account is a temporary action.
Steps to Deleting Your Facebook account
If you want to delete your Facebook account completely and permanently, then follow the simple steps we have outlined for you.
The steps we are going to follow are for those who want to delete their Facebook account through the mobile app on their Android phones,
- Once you open Facebook,
- Tap the app icon that looks like an f that you see
- Click on the Settings & Privacy.
- Tap on Settings.
- Again tap Account Ownership and Control.
- You will see Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select and tap on Deletion
- After that tap on Delete Account.
- And your account will be deleted for good measure
- Follow the instructions on your screen to delete your account
Steps to Deleting Your Facebook Account with a Computer
- Log into https://facebook.com, using any desktop web browser of your choice
- Then click your profile picture
- Tap on Settings & privacy near the top of your menu.
- Click on Settings close to the top of your menu.
- Tap the Privacy button on the left side of the page
- Tap on Your Facebook Information, on the left side of the page next to a circled Facebook logo.
- Click on Deactivation and deletion
- Select Delete account
- Click Continue to account deletion
- Ensure that you want to delete the account
- Enter your password when prompted
- Then click Delete account again.
NOTE: If you deactivate your Facebook account, you can also reactivate it whenever you would love to.
In this article, we have outlined the necessary steps to help you how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account. We told you that for you to successfully delete or deactivate your Facebook account there are two ways to do this. You can delete or deactivate your account if you like.
We also discussed broadly the difference between deleting or deactivating a Facebook account, the effect of deleting a Facebook account, the effect of deactivating a Facebook account, the steps to deleting your Facebook account, and the steps to deleting your Facebook account with a computer. So if you have an account to deactivate or delete congratulations. Please if you have any comments, drop it